Thursday, June 23, 2011

Tres semenas en Chile :)

Title in English: Three weeks in Chile :)

Hola a todos!

Hope you are all doing well, and if you are reading this from back home, I hope that you start getting nicer weather soon :) It has been crazy here (I think I begin almost every post like this, but it's the truth)! Between school, meeting with friends, homework, siestas, and facebook, it's difficult to find time to write my blog haha. But here it goes...

Ok, so Saturday we went on our 2nd excursion to the Azapa Valley with our Spanish writing professor, our tour guide, and of course..Nelson and our awesome bus/van! We began the day by going to the "Agro." It's a market where people can buy cheap (but really good) fruit, vegetables, meat, olives, and coca leaves! I tried the olives, the coca leaves, and a piece of llama jerky! The llama jerky was nasty, and tasted kind of like dog food haha. I actually am a big fan of the olives, which is surprising because I really dislike the olives back home. And as for the coca leaves, well don't get worried or anything! Haha yes, they are the leaves that people use to create cocaine, but here they either chew the leaf or put it in a tea. It actually helps the stomach, and it is used for altitude sickness. It pretty much tasted like chewing a tea bag..didn't like it too much, but we'll have to drink the coca tea when we go on our third excursion which is high in the mountains. The market was actually really cool, and there were SO many people there! The food is mostly from the area, but they also sell stuff from Peru and Bolivia. There are two pictures from the "Agro" below-one is of the olives and the other is just a picture :)

Ok, so we also visited a place where there were hieroglyphics of llamas which was pretty interesting. They used to be "traffic lights,"so they face in the direction of which way the ocean is! (picture below) We also went to a farm that grows bananas and olive trees! It was really pretty, and I thought it was awesome that the farm was completely organic (but I'm pretty sure someone just told me that everything here is organic! I wish it was that way back home..a world without processed food..I wish! But I do miss some good ol' meals from home!). I also have a great picture below of the desolate hills that are in the area and a pic of the whole group that overlooks where there is some vegetation in the valley.

Saturday night was a lot of fun again! We went out to a little pub and then to a Chilean friend's house afterward. I love the weekends here! It's so nice just to relax and spend time with the friends :) And from what I can remember, I think Sunday was just a relaxing day...geez, it's hard to keep up with the days here! Oh, and I also went to church with Rachel. Everyone stared at us a lot as we went up for communion :) Two gringas! haha. We're all starting to get used to the stares and honks as we walk around town..it's just a part of the experience :)

Ok, so Monday was Janae's birthday! We had class during the day (there's a picture of Rachel, me, Phil, Samantha, and Bri in our tiny class room that we are in since the University is still on strike). I don't mind our little classroom, but it is a bit further of a walk for Rachel and I; instead of a 5 minute walk, it's 15..but oh well :) Ok, so then Rachel, Liz, and I went over to Janae's house to celebrate with her family a little bit before we went out with the rest of the group. I had my first completo-a really kind of gross pic of me eating in below haha( a hot dog with tomatoes, avocado, mayo..and w/e else you want). Let me tell you, they are AMAZING! I'm definitely going to be making these when I return to the US :) We had some really yummy chocolate cake, and then we went to Mojito's-a restaurant that is right on the beach! Gorgeous!!! There's a picture with the beach and the three lovely ladies I'll be going to Machu Picchu with (Liz, Janae, and Jonna) and then it's me and my lovely friend Carolina :)

Tuesday, we all met at McDonald's and started planning our big trip to Machu Picchu..I can't believe I'm going to see one of the seven wonders of the world! It's insane! If you have absolutely no idea what this place is about...please go to your local library and look it up..or GOOGLE it :) It's super pretty and interesting! I can't wait to tell you all about it when I get back! Ok, so we have purchased our train and bus tickets-so it's all official now :) On Tuesday night, we went to a parade that took place down the middle of el centro! Everyone was dressed up in pretty costumes, and the music was loud and great! We sat at a little restaurant, ate and watched. There's a pic of the people dancing, and one with Cynthia (one of the primos) and I..she saw us as we were leaving :)

Ok, what more has happened? Well, Wednesday, Rachel and I hung out with my primo, Scott. We met at McDonald's and walked to a tiny restaurant. On our way, there was this little street act in the middle of el centro where there was a little black screen and two men dressed in all black with puppets. One of the men called out to me "Hola gringa!" because I was going to take a picture. And I said Hello and asked if I could take a picture with him (all in Spanish though haha). So that is what that picture is below! There was a little crowd of Chileans and the puppet man asked me why I was there, where I was from, and I even got a kiss from the puppet later on in the show :) I guess I was kind of the guest star "The Gringa". :) We eventually left and had to say "Chao"..but we ate some good food, and I had another completo :) I love them!!! We attempted to going to a little music show, but it was running a little late, and Rachel and I still had some homework, so Scott walked with us home.

Ok, this was WAY more than what I wanted to write, but oh well. Also, I keep seeing "Spatney" (my brother and sister-in-law's look-a-like dog) here! It's kind of crazy. Mom and Dad met my Chilean mom (Ligia)on Skype today, so I'm happy they finally were able to "meet" each other, although I had to try and attempt to translate. Each day and each time we eat with Ligia, our conversations are getting better! I'm trying to talk more rather than just listen now. It's difficult to speak, but I really do need to practice :) Ok, that all for now folks. Take care, and miss you so much! The time is going by fast! Love you all :)

<3 Chao de Chile! Katie~











1 comment:

  1. Hola Katie,

    You sound really busy. I'm sure the time is just flying by. You are not missing much here - the weather feels like April (cool and rainy). It's suppose to shape up this week - we will see. The lightning bugs have arrived!

    I'm glad you could go to the Azapa Valley. I read about it before you left and it sounds interesting. Don't bring back any llama jerky!!! Not sure about the hot dog with everything on it either??:) To be able to go to a farm and see how the olives and bananas are grown was great too!

    I thought you were riding a taxi to an older University building by the ocean. Have you decided to just walk now or are you in another building?

    It's wonderful you got to see a parade with all the costumes!!
    Being a part of the puppet show sounds like one of your highlights this week too.

    Sounds like you miss Spatney - all kinds of reminders of him!! :) Awww Spatney!!!!

    Dad and I were so happy to be able to meet Ligia over Skype!! You are so lucky honey, to have such a nice host Mom while you are there. It sounds like your home feels like home too. I am so thankful for that!!:)
    Make sure you tell her a big Thank you from us for everything she is doing for you!!

    Muchos besos y brazos, xoxoxo
    With all our Love,
    Papa y Mama

    ReplyDelete